Ageing, Disability & Home Care

  • High contrast version
  • Increase the text size
  • Decrease the text size
  • Print this page

Barbara Holborow to chair Ageing Committee

4 August 2011

NSW Minister for Ageing, Andrew Constance, has welcomed 11 new members to the NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee on Ageing (MACA), with former Children’s Court Magistrate Barbara Holborow appointed chairperson.

Mr Constance said that Ms Holborow’s extensive experience in the legal system as well as working with vulnerable people made her an excellent asset to the important advisory body.

“Ms Holborow has been awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for her achievements to date and I feel privileged that she has accepted the role of chairperson of the MACA. I am confident that her contribution to this important forum will be invaluable.”

NSW Planning has projected that in 2024, the proportion of people aged 65 years and older in NSW will for the first time exceed the proportion of people aged 15 years and younger.

“Advice from the MACA will continue to ensure that NSW is well equipped to cope with the challenges we face with an ageing population,” Mr Constance said.

The MACA supports the Minister for Ageing in achieving healthy and productive ageing for the people of NSW.

It provides advice on matters affecting the needs, interests and well-being of older people in NSW and the impact the ageing population has on Government and the community.

The MACA consists of 14 members, appointed as individuals, on the basis of their merit and experience. The MACA meets up to six times a year in Sydney.

Mr Constance said that the new members came from a diverse range of backgrounds and experience that would enhance the role of the MACA considerably.

“I recognise the valuable contributions made by the retiring members of the MACA and I look forward to working with the new committee in identifying innovative ways to address the ageing priorities of NSW.”

NSW Ministerial Advisory Committee on Ageing

Ms Barbara Holborow OAM is a former Children’s Court Magistrate who was honoured with a Medal of the Order of Australia for her service to the community. Barbara has extensive experience in leading reform, particularly for issues relating to vulnerable people such as women, refugees, and children.

Mr Mark Anns is a consultant psychologist in private practice and has been a member of the Australian Psychological Society for over 20 years. He has clinical expertise in end-of-life planning, addressing physical changes in ageing and sexual function, and dementia.

Ms Margaret Meagher is Executive Director, Arts and Health Australia and The Australian Centre for Creative Ageing. She has expertise in promoting the positive impact of arts and creativity in healthy ageing, and experience in working with special needs populations, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and people living in rural areas.

Ms Valerie Pratt AM has a background in social work and was the Director of the Australian Government’s Affirmative Action Agency between 1986 and 1994. She was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in 1990. Her experience includes planning and implementation of workforce participation initiatives for older workers and those from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.

Associate Professor Diana Olsberg established and led the UNSW Research Centre on Ageing and Retirement. She has extensive academic experience and led programs on population ageing. She has experience in advising government on issues on population ageing.

Mr Lloyd Graham has extensive expertise in government planning at senior executive levels, with specific focus on the built environment to promote productive and healthy ageing.

Mr Les Ahoy has had senior management roles in Aboriginal service development and had experience in the non-government organisation sector and as a private consultant.

Ms Millie Ingram is Chief Executive Officer of Wyanga Aboriginal Aged Care Program which she has led since its inception. She has a specific interest in aged care for Aboriginal communities as well as in working conditions for older people.

Ms Caroline Romeo is currently the NSW Home and Community Care Multicultural Access Program Officer. She has expertise in culturally and linguistically diverse populations in particular older people, community services, health and housing.

Dr Abby Bloom has worked in senior executive and governance roles in Australian and international public and private health industries. She has experience in working across different cultural settings and is fluent in a number of languages. She is an Adjunct Professor at the Menzies Centre for Health Policy, Sydney Medical School.

Ms Romayne Page is a senior management professional with 21 years experience in the community development sector. Her expertise is in consumer protection, education and life long learning for older people in rural areas.

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the ADHC news RSS feed

share on facebook share on tweet share on yammershare by email
Back to: top | ADHC home page